Unpack, Unwind & Enjoy
the Ride!


Write or read reviews on our blog
5 star reviews

The following are from our  review page on our blog:

Sometimes you just can't believe your luck and I think staying and riding with John and Aileen counts as one of those times.
Brian USA

Beautiful tranquil hamlet with the outlook from the accommodation private overlooking fields woodland. Aileen/John outstanding hosts and conversationalists. The food is outstanding. The cycling part is very well managed by John,
Chris UK
Have just had the best holiday with John and Aileen as the perfect hosts. The riding each day was well thought out by John, taking into consideration each persons riding skills and allowing time for sightseeing, eating/drinking along the way. In addition, each mornings map briefings and information en route was most helpful. The accommodation was delightful, Aileen's meals sensational and the fun we had with our fellow bike riders unforgettable.
Judi Australia

Well what a holiday!! It could not have been better. John's well researched and thoughtful routes are suitable for all grades of cyclists with choices of early pickups for those flagging or extra loops for the Pro’s. Morning briefings and well presented route maps ensure everyone finds their way and view points and places of interest are not missed (including the best Auberges!). Then there’s Aileen’s cuisine. In a word, ‘sensational’. In two words ‘the best’. The pictures you may see do not do the wonderful dishes justice. What Aileen can do with the excellent local produce is just amazing.
Nick & Heather UK

Tourdust reviews of French cycling holidays

Cycling reviews in the Lot and Dordogne center base home

Cycling Holidays & Tour Reviews

Watch some of our previous guests talk about our cycling tours

Click on photo above

Extracts from our Review page on our blog


"We had some great rides through the French countryside and viewed some fascinating villages and caves. The ride to Sarlat along the old railway line was great, particularly the return journey which was all downhill. While we had some rain which was not unexpected at that time of year, John and Richard ensured that acceptable alternatives were available so that we achieved all of our tourist objectives. However, any report on a visit to Mas de Flory would be deficient without some comments on the food. The four course five star dinners prepared by "Chef" Aileen were outstanding in quality and variety. Every night was a very pleasant surprise. "
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"We cycled through the French countryside and experienced a true France--not "touristy"-but a France dotted with 13th Century village after village and farm fields with it's wheat being caressed by the gentle winds. (Well ok--one day it wasn't that gentle but we were biking after all!) Aileen, John and Richard were gracious hosts and very caring for all our needs. Saying we had great food and lots of fun would be an understatement--it was simply fantastic and outstanding. "
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"Very comfortable accommodation; beautiful countryside and lovely varied cycle rides each day, which were followed by a wonderful four course meal each night. Fully recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys a busy but peaceful holiday."
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"I found this holiday by searching for cycling and gourmet food and indeed both were wonderful. The area is truly lovely to cycle through and John's thorough knowledge of the area ensured that he could tailor fit the route to suit you. The accommodation has been thoughtfully renovated to ensure all home comforts are available. The food was superb. Together John and Aileen work hard to ensure that you have a perfect week."
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"It has been a wonderful holiday - 'gorgeous' in every way! Aileen, I've really loved your fabulous cuisine and the thoughtful touches you've included. John, I've very much appreciated all the interesting diversions and local knowledge along with the flat cycling routes you provided!"
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"Another lovely holiday in the Lot Valley. We returned for our second time and just like the first the cycling, scenery and superb cooking of Aileen was a delight. It was a joy to cycle through the quiet country lanes, hear the birdsong and see a late spring finally arrive and turn the countryside green. Highlights were quiet country villages with interesting architecture, the joy of discovering the ‘plat du jour’ in the local Auberge, and a visit to a local vineyard where the local wine - Malbec - was sampled and purchased. On our return to Mas de Flory, following a hot shower we relaxed in the late afternoon sun chatting to fellow guests and sipping a chilled glass of rose prior to sitting down to a sumptous feast prepared by Aileen and skillfully served by John. Soon the conversation flowed, more wine was consumed and a good time was had by all. We’ll be back......."
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"We've just wrapped up our 3rd wonderful cycling holiday with John & Aileen in the beautiful Lot Valley. You could not ask for a more perfect combination - excellent food, wine & hospitality at Mas de Flory, well planned cycle routes away from busy roads and some of the most stunning scenery the French country side has to offer.
I highly recommend Lot Cycling Holidays for the perfect active holiday in France."
Lot Valley & Easter Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"My initial thought was that this might be disappointing in terms of food, etc. Boy was I dead wrong! Aileen was a most accomplished chef, and prepared phenomenal 4-course meals every night! (I was so full from the first evening's repast, that I couldn't begin to partake of the fresh-baked croissants, her homemade jams and jellies, fresh fruits, coffee, etc. which were offered for breakfast the next, and each sequential morning). Aileen encouraged me to wrap at least one in a napkin and take it along in my pannier for our bike trip. (Good idea!). We were introduced to the other 6 guests for the week. They were all delightful! They hailed from England, Delhi, India, Australia, and New Zealand. Amazingly, everyone got along very nicely, and were suitably matched as biking companions as well. Our host, John..........."
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"So when I look back at 2012 ,what shines most in my head is the memory of my days spent at 'Mas de Flory'. How can one spend a few days cycling on different routes and having variety of meals and by the end of it cant tell which day or meal was better. It was an extra ordinary experience every day. Kudos to John and Aileen for their fantastic planning and hospitality. I was home within a few minutes of arriving there. Stay was very comfortable and everything at the barn' had a personal touch to it. Great location too. It was my first Cyling holiday and that too in a different country. I took it as an experiment and it turned out to be one of my best holidays. Definitely getiing back with wife and friends asap."
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars


"So when I look back at 2012 ,what shines most in my head is the memory of my days spent at 'Mas de Flory'. How can one spend a few days cycling on different routes and having variety of meals and by the end of it cant tell which day or meal was better. It was an extra ordinary experience every day. Kudos to John and Aileen for their fantastic planning and hospitality. I was home within a few minutes of arriving there. Stay was very comfortable and everything at the barn' had a personal touch to it. Great location too. It was my first Cyling holiday and that too in a different country. I took it as an experiment and it turned out to be one of my best holidays. Definitely getiing back with wife and friends asap."
Lot Valley Vistas Cycling Tour
5/5stars



For more reviews on our blog
click here

Guest Book Comments

It has been a wonderful holiday - 'gorgeous' in every way! Aileen, I've really loved your fabulous cuisine and the thoughtful touches you've included. John, I've very much appreciated all the interesting diversions and local knowledge along with the flat cycling routes you provided!
Peta, Melbourne, Australia (July 2013)

Another great stay. Interesting and varied routes from John and more fantastic cuisine from Aileen. Looking forward to next time already!
Nick & Heather, Worcestershire, UK (June 2013)

We have had a wonderful week with fantastic cycling on virtually traffic-free roads. The company was excellent and having a base to come back to and Aileen's wonderful cooking made this a truly relaxing and memorable holiday. Just don't mention the weather!
Donna and David, Lincolnshire, UK (June 2013)

A fantastic week with wonderful scenery while cycling, excellent company and superb cuisine prepared by Aileen. The weather added a different perspective to each day - sunshine one day, rain the next and the next...!
Keith, Alison and Michelle, Melbourne, Australia (June 2013)

A lovely relaxing week in this peaceful, beautiful corner of France. Thanks, John  for planning cycle routes minus hills and plus pretty towns and for your local knowledge. Huge thanks to Aileen (Masterchef du Lot!) for the delicious food. Bonne continuation!
Janine, Sydney, Australia (May 2013)

Fantastic week, thanks. The cycling was great fun and I loved the choice of destinations. Aileen, your cooking is superb! The barn is a lovely base and is very comfortable.
We'll be sure to tell family and friends about our fabulous week at Mas de Flory!
Siobhan, Sydney, Australia (May 2013)

Excellent hosts - the food was cooked and served with love - every mouthful releasing a taste explosion! The cycle rides were well conceived and the whole experience has been fun and varied- just what was needed!
Jacqueline and Allan, Herts, UK (May 2013)

Thanks for the delightful hospitality, beautiful rides and amazing food !
Deb & Steve, Northfield, MA, USA (May 2013)

Another fantastic visit to Mas de Flory. We were pleased to be able to bring more friends to the Lot!
Fran & Steve, London, UK (May 2013)

2012   

A truly fantastic week! The cycling was excellent, the routes thoughtfully planned by John to provide things to see each day as well as exercising our legs! All this building an appetite for Aoleen's great meals which were eagerly anticipated and thoroughly enjoyed by us both. With lots of local wine what more could you want? A truly memorable holiday. We shall be back!
Mark and Heather, Purley, UK September. '12)

Absolutely brilliant week, thanks for everything, superb food, superb cycle routes and superb hosts.
John and Anne, Kent, UK (July. '12)

A week is too short for the splendidcycle tours and superb cuisine of Mas de Flory
Alan, Yorkshire, UK (July. '12)

Thank you Aileen and John. You provided personal service on a grand scale. A week here makes it feel like home. Many michelin stars Aileen.
Chris, Wales, UK (June. '12)

We had a fantastic time here. One of our best vacations ever! We don't think we'll ever eat so well again or ride such beautiful routes. And such amiable hosts.
John and Kathleen, Pennsylvania, USA (May. '12)

Those who say "never do the same holiday" have never been to Mas de Flory! Many thanks for another wonderful week.
Dominique and Marie Louise, Victoria, BC, Canada (May. '12)

Simply said, the best from the food to the routes. Hope to see you again.
Brian, Fredericton, Canada (April. '12)

2011

A fabulous holiday - a spoonful of rural France. Great cycling, not too many hills! Thank you both for your very kind hospitality, Aileen's food, great wine and the best company. Memorable days and evenings.
Stephen and Sandra, London, UK (Sept. '11)

The most amazingly beautiful place to bike and Aileen's wonderful meals. Thanks for a great holiday.
Noella and Geog, New Zealand (Aug. '11)

Back again for the 3rd time and just as before it exceeded expectations. Always forget about Aileen's brilliant food and the cycling was great with new routes. John and Aileen spend lots of time and effort getting things perfect and making a great vacation.
Lennie and Jude, Luton, UK (Aug. '11)

Our first time at Mas de Flory with my Dad (Lennie "the Rock Star") [see above] and Jude, who have been twice before. We've been looked after from the minute we got here - amazing food from Aileen and John gave us detailed maps and cycle routes every day through fantastic countryside. The whole week has been fantastic - can't wait to return!
Fred and Mandy, Wiltshire, UK (Aug. '11)

John and Aileen have the perfect combination of skills and interests: He has created fabulous cycling routes through some of France's loveliest countryside and she produces delicious meals using fresh local produce. A wonderful way to exprience the Lot!
Graham and Judith, London, UK (Aug.'11)

Exceptional food, really well planned cycle routes - a very relaxing holiday.
Murphy - Fahey family, Dublin, Ireland (July '11)

This week spent cycling from Mas de Flory has been one of my best holidays. Comfortable accommodation, superb food and seeing the Lot from a bike. Close to perfection, thank you.
Jo Parkes, Leeds, UK and Uruguay (June '11)

An idyllic week of cycling in this beautiful place. Aileen's cooking could compete with the best. Many thanks to John who fixed our flat tyre and drove us to St Cirq Lapopie when it rained one day and who gave us intimate glimpses of the countryside and the life here.
Robert and Madelyn, Missouri, USA (June '11)

Thank you for your gracious hospitality - the food was wonderful!
Biking is the perfect way to see the gorgeous countryside and villages. We especially liked the farmers' markets and Pech Merle.
Thanks also for tailoring the trip to your customers' abilities and tastes! Frank & Sandy, Florida, USA (May '11)

You have the perfect location and home - so inviting and comfortable. The biking was just right and the food was fantastic. Loved waking up to the birdsong.
See you again in the Fall.
Carol, Rabat, Morocco (May '11)

We have had such a wonderful stay at Mas de Flory. From the lovely warm welcome, beautiful barn and amazing dinners, the hospitality and attention to detail was first class throughout.
Add to that the great cycling routes and beautiful views plus fabulous weather and we can definitely say that we have had a holiday to remember!
Mike & Sarah, Hants, UK (May '11)

"What a fantastic way to spend the Easter weekend! Wonderful hospitality, delicious meals, good company, beautiful scenery and the best cycling anywhere!"
Fran & Steve, London, UK (April '11)

Great food, great cycle trip and fantastic hosts. Loved our time here.
Blair & Heather, Ottawa, Canada (April '11)

 

2010

Our best vacation ever! The combination of hospitality, outstanding meals and, oh yes, biking has made it most memorable.We'll do it again - thank you so much.
Dominique & Marie-Louise, BC, Canada (Sept. '10)

What a great week! John & Aileen are fabulous hosts and Aileen's nightly food creations are divine. All expectations were met and then some! Such a quiet and picturesque setting - a great place to settle in, enjoy the cycling and finish the day off with a first class dinner.
Connie, California, USA (Sept. '10)

Some say sequels are never as good; 'Lot Cycling Holidays' breaks that rule. This is our second visit to Aileen and John and again it was absolutely fantastic. Excellent cycle routes tailored to our fitness, coupled with gourmet food every night, lovingly crafted by Aileen. Truly a wonderful combination provided by a great couple!
Les, Sue, Chris and Ali, Surrey, England. (Aug.'10)

This has been a wonderful holiday - we've enjoyed every moment of our stay. Very many thanks to John and Aileen who have created the perfect sanctuary in a lovely setting. Thanks to Aileen for the great food and to John for his good advice. The clear night skies and watching the deer play at Mas de Flory will be etched in our memories.
Margaret and Steve, Scotland (July '10)

The 'Team' - Aileen, John, Richard, Buddy and Barry: All gave 100% at all times.
The 'Barn' - A 'Grand Design' with a 5 star feel.
Aileen - excellent gourmet food and excellent housekeeping with special touches
John - an excellent cyclist and full of information.
Richard - an excellent 'bike buddy' for a struggling cyclist.
Buddy[the dog]- a smile and a wag at any time of day
Barry[the cat]- a friendly stroke kept him happy
Fellow guests - A great mix to share the day's news with and have a good laugh!
We wish the team all the best for the futere to keep the dream alive.
Ann and Brian, UK (July '10)

Whether at the front of the ride or at the rear there was always encouragement and advice. We were taken to great locations and the team were very knowledgeable. Great location, accommodation and cuisine. Will miss you guys!
Gwen, UK (July '10)

Aileen, John and Richard - you have definitely surpassed your aim! We have had the most memorable and pleasant experience at Mas de Flory. We will definitely recommend you to friends and family and hope that we too will return to this beautiful place in the future. Merci beaucoup for everything!
Pierre and Janice, Scotland (July '10)

An excellent holiday - superb hospitality, cycle routes that suited our novice status and allowed us to view different aspects of the area. Fantastic meals - a taste of rural France and some of the local wines. We even managed a canoe trip down the River Dordogne. John's local knowledge of the way things work added to the whole experience. Thank you, John and Aileen for a holiday to remember.
Jenny and Glyn, UK (July '10)

Thanks for a fantastic week. John and Aileen are the perfect hosts and Mas de Flory is a beautiful setting. The meals prepared by Aileen were fabulous - she is a gifted cook - and John has sorted some lovely routes. Add in the 'bee man', the 'lavender lady' and the 'razor-chewing baker ' and our gastronomic experience has been one to remember and treasure. We will come back - thanks so much, it seemed as though we holidayed with old friends.
Clare and David, UK (June '10)

A superb introduction to the Lot. Aileen's regional cooking and John's local knowledge made for an outstanding experience. Their warm hospitality rounded out the holiday. Thank you so much - we hope to return.
Julie & Mike, Canada (June '10)

Thanks so much for opening your lovely home to us. The food was 4 star, the cycling "up and down" and very picturesque, the van rides exciting and made even more entertaining by John's lively banter. The Lot was great - thanks for everything.
Steve & Laura, Canada (June '10)

Huge welcome, outstanding hospitality, breathtaking countryside and exceptional cuisine - what more could anyone want? Despite some bad weather and cancelled flights, one of the most healing, restorative and therapeutic holidays we have ever enjoyed, A truly wholesome, fulfilling experience.
Paul and Moira, UK (May '10)

Thanks so much for your wonderful hospitality. For showing us the biggest and the smallest wine producers and for the delicious meals afterwards. Also for putting up with us all for an extra day at the end of our trip without batting an eyelid. What a place to be stranded - thank you the people of Iceland! You deserve to thrive - a very impressive operation.
Susie, (Guardian Newspaper) London, UK (Apr '10)

2009

Can't believe it's all over - we don't want to leave! It's been more than we could ever have expected. Thanks John for your carefully thought out routes (and your extra strong coffee!) and Aileen, your food is to die for - how can we return to normality after experiencing gourmet heaven! The best holiday we've ever had. We wish you every success and hope to return in 2010. Kisses to Barry [the cat] and the hens!
Gemma and Dave, Co Cork, Ireland

"A little haven of calm and tranquility - with plenty of fun included. This has been one of our very best ever holidays. Aileen's cooking is what we all dream of and met all our expectations, and more, of gourmet evening meals. John's planning and interpretation of our ability is excellent and he was always just around the corner when we most needed him! What a team!
The surroundings are perfect - this is a wonderful part of France with plenty of variety in the cycling, walking and rustic comfort to stay in.
Altogether a wonderful package with brilliant hosts."
Les and Sue, Alison and Chris, Surrey, UK

"We promised ourselves we would come back and we did! Even better than we remembered - lovely holiday, lovely food. Really enjoyed ourselves again. Superb - we will be back!"
Lennie and Judy, Luton, UK

"Wow! Where to start? Having done many cycling holidays this must rate as one of, if not THE best! Thoughtfully planned routes through spectacular countryside, villages and small towns. Excellent bikes with comfortable saddles! Beautiful, comfortable accommodation and Aileen's wonderful meals all help to create the perfect package - and what fantastic weather!! Thank you for a marvellous holiday - you deserve every success."
Richard and Georgina, Worcestershire, UK

"Superb accommodation and food to die for. The cycling was excellent - John has devised routes of real interest and beauty. A brilliant holiday - would love to return!"
Sue and Chris, Kidderminster, UK

"Plenty of good cycling and excellent food - will need to fast when I get home! Very enjoyable time, good luck with your ongoing venture!"
Christine, Hertfordshire, UK   

"Aileen and John have created a very special place at Mas de flory. John's carefully planned routes enabled us to see the best views of the area. To come home to Aileen's wonderful food was a real treat. We hope your business continues to flourish - you deserve the success - thanks for a wonderful holiday.
Rita and Peter, Oxfordshire, UK

"Very well organised and guided holiday. Excellent support, haute cuisine and luxurious accommodation. Many thanks for a wonderful trip."
Brendan, Co Kildare, Ireland

"Thank you for an excellent week's cycling. The food was a delight and the cycling routes well thought out to show off the diversity of the region"
Mike, Johannesburg, South Africa

"The mellow autumn landscape of the Lot makes it an ideal time of year to walk here. The sun catches the stone, making the wonderfully golden farmhouses and barns blend with the autumn colours.
Have thoroughly enjoyed the walking, foraging for walnuts and figs en route, and tasting the grapes picked straight from the vines!
The walks to St Cirq Lapopie and Rocamadour are the highlights, with their dramatic limestone gorges and perched towns at the end.
John's careful planning, foolproof maps and the inclusion of visits to other tourist attractions, all contributed to an extremely enjoyable experience.
Mas de Flory is a beautiful, tranquil haven and we've been made very welcome. Aileen's vegetarian cooking is without equal and a rare find - especially in France. I've never enjoyed such a variety of dishes and flavours - of course complimented by the great Cahors wine!"
Fiona, Aberdeen, Scotland

"What a super holiday: it's been so very pleasant walking through the limestone gorges, along farm and forest tracks, across the old pilgrim and resistance routes; picking our own picnics of figs, walnuts and grapes and feasting every evening on Aileen's fabulous four-course dinners.
We've had a wonderful introduction to this lovely unspoilt and tranquil region, both from the car on our journeys to and from the walks as well as on foot.
Thank you both for making our stay so memorable."
Christine, Aberdeen, Scotland

2008

"This was my first visit to France and I could not have asked for a better introduction. My hosts and fellow travellers were the most excellent of company.
Aileen's food was to die for - I honestly have never eaten such good food in my life.
The cycle routes were fantastic. Mas de Flory is a treasure - I will cherish always my time here"
Jody, Atlanta, GA, USA

"Truly outstanding holiday - well organised, flexible cycling tours and exceptional cuisine. Above all, however, was the warmth of the welcome which ensured everyone had a great time."
Conal and Mary, Dublin, Ireland

"Novice cycling for foodies at its best! Deeply thought through and caringly delivered. Thanks Aileen and John."
Tony, Brockenhurst, UK.

"How lucky we were to find this place. Haven't cycled for years but John made us feel that nothing was a problem and his easy banter pushed us along. The accommodation is brilliant and words cannot begin to describe the wonderful meals that Aileen prepared - what skill!
Probably the best holiday we have ever had. We will definitely be coming back. Our fellow guests were great fun and we loved the whole time - just sorry it's over! "
Lennie and Judy, Luton, UK

"A wonderful week. Excellent cycling routes, a brilliant location and all delivered with such care and consideration. We were lucky with the weather but nothing else was left to chance – food to cycle for!"
Michael and Ann, Herts, UK

"A lovely, relaxing place to stay. John and Aileen made us feel like 'old friends'. Our room was wonderful with a door onto the terrace. A brilliant setting for the wonderful food and attentive service. Can't wait to return".
John and Sheila, Kent, UK

"Great holiday in every way! Location, food, cycling routes and attention to the smallest detail were wonderful. Beautiful way to experience France."
Maureen and Andy, Victoria, BC, Canada

"The whole holiday gets a huge thumbs up from us. Aileen's food was probably the best we've ever tasted. John's humour and knowledge made the cycling easy.Even 'chalet host' Barry [the cat] took us out for the odd walk! Thank you both!"
Tara and Mark, West Sussex, UK

"Mas de Flory is a real 'find'. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. With John's friendly banter and Aileen's wonderful cooking we just relaxed immediately."
Marie, Eileen and Jean, Ireland

"Great holiday in the most salubrious barn in France! The thought of Aileen’s food got us to the top of hills every day. Terrific cycling and company too”.
Jen and Corinne, Brisbane, Australia

"This has to be our best cycling holiday yet!
John's well planned routes and knowledge of the Lot together with Aileen's cuisine, which really was excellent and the great company of our fellow guests, have given us many happy memories to take home. Thank you both very much."
Kim and Nigel, Kent, UK

"Excellent warm hospitality, great cycling and great fun. John's TLC was a great help... Aileen's cooking deserves a Michelin star!"
Tom and Marjorie, Ireland

"We have had a fantastic holiday thanks to your warm hospitality, wonderful cycling routes, great local knowledge and an extravaganza of vegetarian culinary delights!
We've really enjoyed coming back to your beautiful barn every evening, relaxing with a glass of wine and swapping stories with Barry [the cat!].
Would love to return and will highly recommend."
Simon and Sonia, York, UK

"Great rides, wonderful food and a warm welcome. Can we return?"
Marguerite and Bish, Canada

"Thanks for a great holiday. Easy paced cycling and very clear instructions on routes together with excellent accommodation, gourmet cuisine, picturesque scenery and excellent hosts all made for a fantstic time."
Matthew and Cate, Manchester, UK

 

 


Cookies
By using our website you agree that we can place performance cookies on your device.
Our privacy policy gives more details.

Lot Cycling Holidays © 2007 - 2017


Mas de Flory
Degagnac 46340
France
All images are the property of Lot Cycling Holidays or individuals who have been on our cycling holidays or wine tours. All rights reserved.